#AnEchoofThingstoCome: Now that’s how to do book 2!


An Echo of Things to Come (The Licanius Trilogy, Book 2)
By: James Islington
My Rating: FIVE out of FIVE STARS!
Best for: 14 and up

James Islington read Mistborn and The Name of the Wind and thought “I can do that!”

So he did.

As far as debut novels go, I don’t know I’ve ever come across one as perfectly ambitious as The Shadow of What Was Lost, book 1 in The Licanius Trilogy.

And book 2? Oh dang, book 2 delivered!

Like The Shadow of What Was Lost, An Echo Things to Come is long, fun, and wonderfully detailed! Multiple POV’s, an enormous world with literally thousands of years of history, and a complex plot–all woven into an exciting world of magic and might, kingdoms and kinship, friends and foes, and epic-sized conflicts between Gods and humans.

Watching these characters grow and seeing the plot take shape…the Licanius Trilogy is a ride and I’m loving it! Book three is next, and I can’t wait to see how things wrap up–but I also don’t want it to end…

What am I supposed to do with that?

No language or sex and only mild violence. The length and complexity are the only watch-outs.

Best for 14 and up.

The audiobook is excellent, too.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: