#Dragonrider: Dragons are the bacon of books


Fledgling (Dragonrider Chronicles, Book 1)
Avian (Dragonrider Chronicles, Book 2)
Traitor (Dragonrider Chronicles, Book 3)
Immortal (Dragonrider Chronicles, Book 4)
Savage (Dragonrider Legacy, Book 1)
Harbinger (Dragonrider Legacy, Book 2)
Legend (Dragonrider Legacy, Book 3)
By: Nicole Conway
My Rating: Four out of Five Stars
Best for: 10 and up

Now here’s a series your fantasy loving middle graders will love!

The Dragonrider books by Nicole Conway are marketed as two separate series.

The first four books are The Dragonrider Chronicles. They introduce the main characters and deliver the first story arc. The Dragonrider Legacy includes the final three books. This series continues the story of the main characters after a 40 year time jump, introduces new characters, delivers it’s own story arc, and puts a nice bow on the conclusion of both series. Because the two series are so connected, I consider them one, seven book series.

The Dragonrider series isn’t unique and it’s quite formulaic. Not really any surprises here.

Unassuming, unloved boy gets accepted into Dragonrider school after a dragon chooses him to be his rider. The boy discovers he’s the chosen one, destined to unite the people of the land, restore order and balance, overthrow the evil tyrant, and save the day. Twice. You know, because there are two series. The ending to the first story arc was meh, but the wrongs are righted in the end of the second story arc. Dues ex machina is the go to solution for the biggest problems.

But if the formula works, it works, and these stories work for their audience. The Dragonrider series are definitely story driven. It was enough to keep me interested through 7 books! Battles, mysteries, coming of age, magic, elves, first love, humor, friendship, bad guys, heroes.

Plus…dragons! Like I always say: dragons are the bacon of books–they make everything better!

The Dragonrider books are targeted for upper-middle grade fantasy fans and dragon lovers everywhere. Content appropriate for 10 and up.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: